Operations Committee

The Operations Committee consists of the most senior learning technology person in each of the faculties, CTL, and representatives of CTLT and UBC IT. Members of this committee gather input from faculty and students, as well as from the other learning technology committees.

Decisions about operational priorities and implementations of new systems and services are the committee’s remit.

Jump to a section: Current Members | Terms of Reference

Current Members

Where two members are listed for one Faculty, one of the members is an Associate Dean or has an academic appointment.

  • Natasha Boskic – Director, Learning Design, Professional Development and Community Engagement, Faculty of Education
  • Judy Chan – Educational Consultant, Learning Centre, LFS
  • Siobhan Cook – Director, Learning Services, Sauder School of Business
  • Abir Cosyn – Manager, Learning Technologies and Strategy, Centre for Teaching and Learning, Okanagan
  • Noureddine Elouazizi – Strategist, Teaching and Learning Technologies, Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology
  • Carol Jaeger – Associate Dean, Academic, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Paul Joseph – Systems Librarian, Library
  • Ramon Lawrence – Academic Director, Centre for Teaching and Learning, Okanagan
  • Melissa Li Sheung Ying – Director, Centre for Instructional Support, Faculty of Applied Science
  • Jeff Longland – Acting Senior Manager, Learning Applications, UBC IT (ex officio)
  • Jon-Paul Marchand – Director, Educational Technology and Learning Designs, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Stephen Michaud – Senior Manager, Learning Applications, Integrations, and Learning Analytics, Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology (ex officio)
  • Aarti Paul (Chair) – Director, Engagement Services, Information Technology
  • Gary Rosborough – Senior Manager, Education Technology, Faculty of Medicine
  • Ricardo Serrano – Associate Director, Arts ISIT, Faculty of Arts
  • Jaclyn Stewart – Associate Dean, Academic, Faculty of Science
  • Tammy Yasrobi (Chair) – Associate Director, Teaching & Learning Technologies, CTLT
  • Michelle Zeng – Senior Manager, Educational Strategies, Faculty of Forestry
  • Todd Zimmerman – Associate Director, UBCO IT Engagement Services
  • AMS Student Representative

Terms of Reference


  • The Learning Ecosystem Operations Committee governs the operation of all tools in the Learning Technology Ecosystem. Members of the Committee gather input from faculty and students, from the LT Leadership Team, from the Innovation and User Committees and from the LT Hub Leadership group.
  • Establishes operational priorities and implementation approaches for new systems, software, functionality and services are the Committee’s remit. Members are responsible for change management and communications associated with implementations in their respective Faculties.


  • Establishes operational priorities.
  • Monitors risks, quality, and progress of learning ecosystem operations.
  • Recommends and implements operational policies, processes, procedures and/or direction required for smooth operations (with referral to other appropriate decision making bodies where needed).
  • Governs the implementation of new systems, software, functionality, services as directed by LTLT and the LT Hub Leadership group.


  • Guides operations of systems, software, functionality, and services related to the advancement of teaching and learning through the use of learning technologies.
  • Strategic overstay of University-wide systems, software, services and support that are primarily used for teaching and learning (including: classroom technology, mobile technology, media and content repositories).
  • Scope includes established (enterprise), emerging (pilot) and potential (innovation) LT tools and applications.