Saying ‘goodbye’ to Collaborate Ultra

February 3, 2021 at 9:55 am

Following winter term 2, 2021, UBC will no longer be using the virtual classroom tool Collaborate Ultra.

The tool will not be available for new courses from April 2021, and all access, including to stored recordings, will be removed as of July 31, 2021, with your personal access to Collaborate Ultra recordings in Canvas removed June 30, 2021.

What does this mean for UBC faculty members?

Any course recordings stored in Collaborate Ultra must be downloaded and saved elsewhere (i.e., in the video platform Kaltura, which like Collaborate Ultra also works in Canvas). We recommend doing this as soon as possible to ensure you have adequate time to retrieve important recordings.

Starting in summer session 2021, you will need to use alternate tools for ​video/audio web-conferencing and collaboration, such as Zoom.

Why is Collaborate Ultra being decommissioned?

Our existing contract has come to an end, and with the numerous alternative tools available, we will not be renewing at this time.

How can I get help with downloading my recorded content?

A step-by-step transition guide for transferring your Collaborate Ultra videos to Kaltura is now available.

For support with downloading your recordings and exploring the alternative tools available for online teaching, reach out to your faculty’s Instructional Support Unit or contact us in the LT Hub.

What else do I need to know?

Any lecture recordings that show students in an identifiable way require permission from the student(s) before being shown to other courses or student cohorts. Use this opportunity to check for student names and faces, and edit out or seek permission before uploading your recording to Canvas.

Update February 16, 2021: The LT Hub’s step-by-step Collaborate Ultra transition guide explains how to save your recordings, upload them to Kaltura, and get started with Zoom.

Posted in Collaborate Ultra